Branch Awards 2024 – the winners!

On Friday 2 February, members from across the East Midlands came together to celebrate their work at UNISON’s annual Branch Awards 2024.

The evening began with remarks from the regional secretary Chris Jenkinson and the guest of honour, UNISON’s general secretary Christina McAnea.

Christina McAnea speaks to members present

The awards ceremony was compered by regional manager Louisa Wass Griffiths and Chris Birks, the East Midlands media and communications lead.

There were 7 award categories in total – the winners are below.

Be the Reason Award: East Midlands Ambulance Service

Outstanding Young Member: Megan Wilson Ibbotson

Outstanding Activist: Barbara Knight

Outstanding Communications: Leicestershire Police

Outstanding Campaign: Leicester City for Ash Field Academy

TUC Regional Rep Award: Michelle Delury

Recruitment Award: UNISON Utility Services

Outgoing regional convenor Chris Tansley was presented with the Outstanding Service award as he prepares to step down after serving the union for four decades!

Certificates were also presented to our regional Leadership School graduates who completed a number of training courses around dealing with the press, communications, organising, and mobilising members for campaigns.